FORT WORTH, TX—On March 5, the Texas Cultural Trust will present the Kimbell Art Foundation with the prestigious 2013 Texas Medal of Arts Award for Foundation Arts Patron at an awards gala in Austin, Texas. The Foundation is being honored for its establishment, continued support, and stewardship of the Kimbell Art Museum, as well as for its unwavering dedication to art education. “What an honor it is for the Kimbell Art Foundation to be recognized by the Trust,” commented Kay Fortson, president of the Foundation’s board of directors. “It has been the Foundation’s primary purpose to provide a first-class art experience to all who visit the Kimbell Art Museum.”

Others to receive 2013 Texas Medal of Arts Awards include: Eva Longoria, Gene Jones and Charlotte Jones Anderson, Texas Monthly, Big Thought and Gigi Antoni, James Surls, the Houston Ballet, Joe Sears and Jaston Williams of Greater Tuna, Steve Miller, and Ricardo Chavira. The awards gala will be attended by legislators, philanthropists, and patrons of the arts in Texas. Individuals planning and supporting the 2013 event include honorary chairs Governor Rick Perry and First Lady Mrs. Anita Perry, Lt. Governor David Dewhurst and Mrs. Patricia Hamilton Dewhurst, Speaker Joe Straus and Mrs. Julie Straus, and TMA Awards cochairs Kelli Blanton and Marita Fairbanks.

Texas Medal of Arts Awards

The Texas Medal of Arts Awards celebrate Texans who have achieved greatness through their creative talents, as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages. Since its 2001 inception, the TMA Awards has honored 72 outstanding Texans, including Van Cliburn, Laura Bush, Walter Cronkite, Bob Schieffer, Robert Edsel, Tommy Lee Jones, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson, and Robert Rauschenberg. More information on this year’s awards is available on the TMA Awards website.

Kimbell Art Foundation

The Kimbell Art Foundation was established by Kay and Velma Kimbell in 1936. When Mr. Kimbell died in 1964, he left instructions to build an art museum “of the first class” in Fort Worth. Dr. Richard F. Brown, the museum’s first director, led the Foundation in selecting architect Louis I. Kahn (1901–1974) to design the new museum building. Since its opening in 1972, Kahn's building has won wide acclaim as one of the outstanding architectural achievements of the modern era and in 1998 received the prestigious AIA Twenty-Five Year Award in Washington, D.C.

The Kimbell Art Museum’s first special exhibition, Impressionist and Post-Impressionist Paintings from the U.S.S.R. (1973), set the standard for the extraordinary schedule of exhibitions that would become synonymous with the Kimbell. For the first time, these works were allowed outside the Soviet Union and were seen in four U.S. cities: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, and Fort Worth. Immediately the Kimbell was recognized as an international museum venue.

The Foundation's policy for acquiring art is essentially to collect "the best of the best." Today the collection consists of about 350 works which extend from antiquity to the 20th century, including European masterpieces by artists such as Michelangelo, Caravaggio, Cézanne, Monet, and Matisse; important collections of Egyptian and classical antiquities; and Asian, Mesoamerican, and African art.

In 2012 the Kimbell Art Museum celebrated its 40th anniversary and welcomed its 10 millionth visitor, and in late 2013 a new building, designed by world-renowned architect Renzo Piano, will open across the lawn.

 # # #

Images are available on request. Please contact the public relations department at 817-332-8451, ext. 248, or Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more information about the exhibition and related events.